Home  |  Resources  |  FAQs  

Astrology Interpretation

There is always more to learn when it comes to Astrology. The best place to start is grasping the key concepts behind astrology. Follow our brief guide to get you started on interpreting astrology.

The Planets The Planets
There are 10 planets in Astrology, beginning with the Sun and the Moon, which are also know as luminaries. The remaining planets are Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. The Planets are important in Astrology as they influence how we react in our everyday lives. Each Planet releases its most powerful energy over the Sign it rules. This is the Planets Sign of dignity. The Planets also have a Sign of exaltation, which is the Sign the Planet interacts with well. Directly opposite each Planet's Sign of dignity is the Sign of detriment; this Planet's energy is generally unfavorable. Opposite the Sign of exaltation is the Sign of fall; these Planets exhibit a weakened energy.

The Houses
There are twelve houses of the Zodiac. Each different part deals with a different aspect of your life. The placement of the Planets and Signs in the various Houses further describes your astrological profile. The First house begins at the nine o'clock position on the astrology chart, with the Second house beginning at eight o'clock and so on. Each of the Houses is ruled by a Zodiac sign. Aries is the first sign in the Zodiac and is the ruler of the first House, Taurus, is the second sign and ruler of the second House, and so on.

The Angles
The birth chart is divided into four hemispheres, northern, southern, eastern and western; and four quadrants, the first, second, third and fourth. Each quadrant is then bound by two of the four angles of the horoscope. The angles of the horoscope are the Ascendant, the first point on the chart wheel; The Imum Coeli, sits on the cusp of Fourth House;, The Descendant, lies directly opposite the Ascendent on the cusp of the Seventh House; The Medium Coeli, sits directly opposite the Imum Coeli on the cusp of the Tenth House.

Aspects and Orbs
The Aspects address the angular relationship between the plants and the points in the Zodiac. The Aspects are measured in degrees. The Zodiac is broken into twelve equal pieces, which are the Sun Signs. The major Aspects are conjunctions (at 0 degrees, or planets which are right next to each other), sextiles (60 degrees apart), squares (a 90 degree separation), trines (120 degrees in distance) and oppositions (180 degrees apart). Orbs are used to calculate exact angular differences between planets. An orb is a set number of degrees within which a specific aspect is effective. For example, two planets that are 86 degrees apart, are condsidered square although not an exact 90 degree angle. Different ranges of orbs are used relative to the Aspect.

Capricorn Sun Sign

The Elements
The Elements are also known as Triplicities and speak to the nature and temperament of a Sign. The four Elements and their Signs are Fire (Aries, Leo, Saggittarius), Earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn), Air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) and Water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces).

The Qualities
The Qualites address the manner of expresion of a Sign. There are three Qualities, Cardinal Signs, Fixed Signs and Mutable Signs. Each quality has four Signs that each reflect the common modes of the Signs. Cardinal Signs are Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn - they are the initiators of the Zodiac. The Fixed Signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius - they dedicate themselves to seeing projects through to the end. The Mutable Signs are Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces - they are the flexible members of the Zodiac.

FREE Daily

Astrology Basics



Zodiac Secrets


Time Machine

Chinese Zodiac



Terms of Service  |  Privacy Policy Copyright - HoroscopeZen.com